top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGenie Goldstein Kizner

Medical device control program

Updated: Apr 8


As part of my job in Cognit I worked with a start-up, that developed robotic technology for CT-guided invasive medical procedures.


CT room illustration

My Part In The Project

Co-teamed with my manager, Moran, I was responsible for planning the PC User-Interface for controlling the robot (research, task analysis, concept, and detailed design). Later on, I was in direct contact with the graphical designer and the front-end developer, directing them on the implementation of the concept.

Process and Result

Discovery Phase: I learned about the product from the management team, who already had some deep knowledge of the relevant medical processes, and complemented it with questions I sent along the way to the board’s Physicians.

Observation + Interview: I’ve watched three procedures performed in the hospital, with the existing technology, and noticed problems we could address in our solution. I also Interviewed the Physician who performed the procedures.

Result: The start-up company built and tested the product, and received the FDA clearance to market in the U.S.

I am unable to publish process materials (like mock-ups) online, but you can see some details of the project, the final design, and the customers' feedback on Cognit’s site.

What I Learned from this Project:

The Domain: I learned about the field of medical devices and programs, and their approval process.

The Work process: Since we worked with a start-up company, with a small and devoted team, we included the the whole team in the important decisions. We formed an open communication channel and asked each other questions freely. This allowed the front-end developer to perfectly translate all our plans and ideas into the live product. I believe that good relationships with clients and team members contribute to the effectiveness of work and even to the final product.

The Tools: At the time, we didn't have a prototype-dedicated tool in our company, and I struggled while working on the mock-ups. This led me to propose to my managers to acquire a prototype dedicated tool for this kind of work, and eventually, the whole company switched to a new tool.




145 views0 comments
bottom of page